Back button

12th September 2019

A hat-trick of finalists for the EDUcatering Awards

CH&CO is very proud of three talented team members who have successfully been shortlisted across three categories for the EDUcatering Awards 2019.

The EDUcatering Awards recognise outstanding individuals who have excelled within the school meals sector and are working hard to ensure that school children are eating healthy and nutritious meals every day.

Congratulations to the three finalists, who represent our independent schools business, CH&CO Independent and our state schools business, Principals by CH&CO and ABsolutely by CH&CO, on their fantastic achievements.

The CH&CO finalists:

Independent School Caterer of the Year: Gavin Stevens, Chef Manager, CH&CO Independent

Taking time to really get to know his customers, Gavin has introduced a new and enticing menu and spent his free time creating a bright, innovative dining area.  In the last 18 months, he has reduced the use of throw-away plastic and paper by just under 70%, been recognised by the NHS and local council for his focus on healthy food and has been shortlisted for a Healthy Eating award run by the Independent School Parenting magazine.

Primary School Caterer of the Year: Mariama Davies, Chef Manager, Principals by CH&CO

At their primary school in South London, Mariama and the Principals by CH&CO team have been recognised for introducing exciting new menus and engaging with parents, guardians and the wider community through a community gardening project, family cooking classes and special events.  School meal uptake has increased by 64% in just 12 months.

Newcomer of the Year: Neil Blackhurst, Operations Support Manager, ABsolutely by CH&CO

Neil’s busy role as Operations Support Manager has seen him support the mobilisation of ten new schools, not to mention increasing uptake with a range of initiatives such as pop-up feedback, interactive events and cookery classes.  He also regularly appears as Captain Wasteless to promote our food waste reduction initiative!

The winners will be announced at a special awards dinner on Tuesday 8 October.  We wish them all the very best of luck.